All sites are open from 10:00 AM until 4:00 PM on both Saturday, September 13 and Sunday, September 14 – unless other wise noted in the description

Click on the artists name for bios and additional information


Click the link for a map of Doors Open sites with GPS coordinates Doors_Open_HC_2014 



Huron County Museum

110 North Street, Goderich

Huron County Museum Train

Tour the Huron County Museum to discover the social, political, military and artistic history of the County.  A special exhibit highlights the stories of Huron residents who excelled in science, technology and the arts.  Or explore the museum’s “Noteworthy” exhibit featuring pianos, organs, and other musical instruments.  Huron County Museum’s collections—all yours to enjoy.

 Luthier: Josh House



Huron Historic Gaol

181 Victoria Street North, Goderich

 15. Huron Historic Gaol

The Huron Historic Gaol is a unique and imposing octagonal building which served as the County Jail from its opening in 1841 until 1972.  Now a National Historic Site, the Gaol originally housed the County Courts and Council Chambers, as well as the jail and House of Refuge.

 Visual Artist: Catherine Weber



Linda Wiebe’s Backyard Art Studio

89 Britannia Road West, Goderich

 Welcome Linda Wiebe Backyard Studio3to Linda Wiebe’s backyard art studio. Enter the far door of the “the shop” where you will find orange stairs that lead up to her studio. Linda’s primary medium is encaustic and the coloured wax will be warm and ready for a demonstration. Other artists will be on site with their work. participate in a community art project designed specifically for Doors Open.

 Visual Artists: Linda Wiebe & Friends




The Livery

35 South Street, Goderich

The boomtowLiveryn façade with square arch windows was added in 1878 to the original stage coach and livery operations. Saved from demolition and transformed into a vibrant home for the arts and culture, come tour The Livery Theatre, a multi-use facility, enjoyed by many for over 35 years.

 Musician: Charlie Weber




 Huron Harp School

54 Nelson Street West, Goderich

Huron Harp HHS Recording 001School is based at the studio of Founder and Director, Sharon Johnston. Originally a duplex, the house has been in the family of Bill Johnston since 1932. The Johnstons use it as their residence, where Sharon’s studio takes over the double living room. Huron Harp School students  and other musicians will be performing during the Doors Open weekend.

 Musicians: Huron Harp School students




Elizabeth’s Art Gallery

54 Courthouse Square, Goderich

Elizabeth’s Art GalleryElizabeth's art gallery has been in operation on the historic Courthouse Square since May of 1992. The focus is on representing the original works of artists from across Ontario.  You will find great work in all media including acrylics, watercolours, photography, glass, wood, fiber and more. The Gallery houses  a state-of-the-art workshop, provides custom framing and carries fine art supplies for all artists.   

 Visual Artist/Photographer: Elizabeth Van den Broeck



Blyth Centre for the Arts/Blyth Memorial Community Hall

423 Queen Street, Blyth

 Blyth Festival Memorial HallThe Blyth Memorial Community Hall, built as a “living cenotaph” to fallen soldiers, is home to the Blyth Centre for the Arts and Blyth Festival – celebrating their 40th season in 2014! The Blyth Festival Singers and Bainton Gallery within the centre will offer programming during Doors Open weekend. Come and experience art and live performances in this world-renowned cultural centre!

 Visual Artist: Vicki McKague (Saturday)

 Visual Artist: Michele Miller (Sunday)



Wonky Frog Studios

197 Westmoreland Street, Blyth

Artists Scott RamsayWonky Frog Studio and Cat O’Donnell are the new owners of the Pottery Studio in Blyth. Now, Wonky Frog Studio anchors the lovely old century home. We will be the fifth owners to continue the tradition of pottery here. We offer, pottery, paintings, prints, jewellery and more, or enjoy the gardens. Grant our adopted  ex-racer Greyhound looks forward to giving you a tour. Find us on Facebook

Potter: Cat O’Donnell

                                            Visual Artist: Scott Ramsay


Emergency Services Training Centre

40193 Blyth Road, Blyth

The ESTC (EmergESTCency Service Training Centre is a world-class facility providing firefighter and emergency responder training for municipalities and companies. Through partnerships with accredited training providers, the ESTC provides the high quality instruction that responders need to deal with today’s ever-changing demands.

 Visual Artist/Illustrator: Randy Jones



The Old Mill and Atlas Tanning

82790 London Road (County Rd #4), Blyth

Rich with histoldmillory and expertise in leather and wool, The Old Mill designs products from their own tanneries such as leather jackets, wool blankets and wool work socks. They’re famous for creating the washable sheepskin rug. The Old Mill carries a large selection of Canadian made products – luxurious leather jackets, mohair throws, sweaters, world-class fashions, sportswear and accessories.

 Spinner: Amanda Budny & Jynx the Rabbit



Blyth Farm Cheese

82521 Allboro Line

Local cheese makBlyth Farm Cheeseing facility specializing in Gouda style cheese made from Goat’s milk. Thirty minute tours of cheese plant (maximum of 10 people per tour) at 10 AM, 11 AM, 12 PM, 1PM, 2PM and 3PM. Please note this site is open on Saturday, September 13 only.  


 Wood Crafts: Tony Omahen (Saturday only)



Blyth Arts & Cultural Initiative 14/19 & Huron Geomatics

327 King Street, Blyth

 Huron Geomatics

Blyth Arts & Cultural Initiative 14/19 Inc. is raising $6M to drive social and economic revitalization in the region through arts and culture.  Visit the eventual site of the Canadian Centre of Rural Creativity (working title) to learn about this ambitious project.

Huron Geomatics Inc. a Wingham-based, locally-owned company that focuses on data collection and asset management using various remote sensing technologies. Lidar is a remote-sensing technique that densely samples surfaces, producing highly accurate 3D measurements. It produces mass point cloud data that can be visualized, analyzed and shared. Lidar is quickly emerging as a cost-effective alternative to traditional surveying.


Van Amersfoort Heritage Home

692 Queen Street, Blyth

Visit this heriVan Amersfoort Housetage home in Blyth to hear about its rich historical significance in the community.


 Visual Artist: Becca Marshall




Masonic Lodge #303

199 Dinsley St – Upper, Blyth

Blyth MasonicLodgeLogo

Blyth Lodge No.303 was dedicated on September 28, 1933. The Masonic Fraternity was developed to make good men better. To be one ask one.

Digital Video Artist: Adam Sipione


Bainton’s Old Mill Ltd.

206 Westmoreland Street, Blyth

Wool & Leather SpeciaBaintonslists since 1894, Bainton’s Old Mill carries a full line of Made in Canada products including: Men’s & Ladies Dress, Casual & Motor Bike Coats; Sheepskin Coats; Hats & Mittens; 100% Wool, Wool Blend and Mohair Sport, Hiking, Hunting and/or Dress Socks; Washable 100% Wool Blankets in all sizes & colours, Sheepskin Rugs and more.

 Musician: David McKee



 Clinton’s School on Wheels Museum

76 Victoria Terrace, Clinton

 SchoolonWheels Pic trimmed

The School on Wheels Museum represents innovation in education that began in 1926.  Clinton native Fred Sloman and his family spent 10 months of each year in the rail car bringing education to children in Northern Ontario for nearly 40 years.  This meticulously restored mobile classroom/residence is definitely a unique piece of provincial history.

 Visual Artist: Paula Letheren 



Holmesville Church Gallery

500 Holmes Street, Holmesville

Holmesville ChHolmesville Gallery 2urch Galleries: Huron’s Diverse Art Experience. Featuring local Huron County Artists and a variety of featured artworks. Also including pottery, glass, clocks, antiques and collectibles. Enjoy many parts of the original church including stained glass windows. 

 Visual Artist: Madeleine Roske (Saturday)




 Alice Munro Literary Garden

273 Jospehine Street, Wingham

Walk throualice munro garden side bargh the garden on the grounds of the North Huron Museum that honours Nobel Laureate Alice Munro.  Stones commemorate the books written by Alice and the awards she has received.  Sit for a spell and gather some literary inspiration of your own.

 Musician: Stacey Zegers




North Huron Town Hall

274 Josephine Street, Wingham

The North HWingham-Town-Hall-2-2014uron Town Hall is built in the historical architectural style known as Second Empire. Built in 1890 for the sum of $8,500, the building originally housed a courtroom, police station, jail cells, municipal office and a second story auditorium.

 Musicians: Patrick Main & Others




North Huron Museum

273 Josephine Street, Wingham

The site of the NNorth Huron Museumorth Huron Museum was originally built in the High Victorian style in 1907. The Town of Wingham Post Office occupied the first floor. The Post Master lived on the second floor and the third floor was home to the building janitor. The  museum has a room dedicated to the work  of Wingham native Alice Munro and the Alice Munro Literary Gardens are located on the south side of the museum.    

 Visual Artist: Kelly Stevenson



St. Paul’s-Trinity Anglican Church

19 John Street, Wingham

 St. Paul’s-TrinSt. Paul's Anglicanity was constructed in 1892 at a cost of $7000. It was designed in the Norman style by Strickland and Symonds, architects of Toronto. It has served the community ever since and is noted for its stained glass windows, unique wall and ceiling murals and ornate cravings. The painting of “The Last Supper” above the altar is another fine focal point.

 Musician: Dan Pavkeje




Van Egmond House – Egmondville

80 Kippen Road, Egmondville

This beautifVan Egmond House 2webul Georgian manor was built in 1846 by Magistrate Constant Van Egmond, son of Colonel Anthony Van Egmond and his wife Madam Susanna.  Touring the stately heritage-designated residence includes the remnants of a basement jail cell, its large farm kitchen, Madam’s room, the music room, the lovely salon where much entertaining took place, as well as historic

 Visual Artist/Jeweller: Ruth Anne Merner



 Seaforth Golf & Country Club

1A Doig Drive, Seaforth

The GemmSeaforth Golf Courseel/McGeoch/Doig farmland purchased in 1847 would, in 1960, open as the nine-hole Seaforth Golf Club, managed from the 1856 family home constructed of stone found on the farm.  Since then, the club’s eventual 18 holes and the Doig family have welcomed Canadian Tour tournaments as well as thousands of happy recreational

 Visual Artist: Barry Cleave




The Historic Round House

140 Duke Street, Seaforth

One of just twRound Houseo octagonal public halls remaining in Ontario, Seaforth’s unique Round House, built in 1901-02, is a designated heritage building and features an interior double staircase leading to its gallery.  The Round House has been opened and utilized annually as an exhibition hall during each fair season since its construction.

 Musician: Eric Robertson



The Commercial Hotel Suites

 84 Main Street South, Seaforth

Commencing iCommercial Hoteln 1866, guests and boarders enjoyed the hospitality of The Commercial Hotel.  And the present building, constructed in 1895 following a fire that engulfed the original, accommodated visitors and diners for over a century.  Recently, this designated heritage structure underwent a remarkable facelift and now encompasses modern, well-appointed apartments–once again welcoming residents.

 Visual Artist: Bev Keller



Brussels Library

 402 Turnberry St, Brussels

 Brussels Library

When Brussels Carnegie Library opened in 1910, the Brussels Post proclaimed that “Brussels possesses the neatest and most modern Public Library building in 5 counties.”  In 2014 a renovated library reopened with a new addition to reaffirm that proud tradition, keeping  the library at the centre of community life for another 104 years. *Site open Saturday only.

 Architect: John Rutledge



 Cinnamon Jim’s Café & Upper Deck

401 Turnberry Street, Brussels

Designated a CulCinnamon Jim 1tural Heritage property, this striking Italianate-style flatiron building was built in 1879, and was once the location of the town’s Post Office and its newspaper, The Brussels Post.  Today it is home to a popular eatery featuring delicious home cooking, while its Upper Deck regularly hosts great rhythm and blues acts that draw audiences from near and far. Please note this site closes at 3:00 PM each day

Various Musicians from Huron County 




The Old Shop

199 Turnberry Street North, Brussels

Don McNeilThe Old Shop Don McNeil 3 loves stuff and has since he was a child — but as much as he loves things, Don loves history.  Inside an 1887 historic building, his collection is a wonderful compilation of the past.  Everything from street lamps to sleighs–each with its story–rest amongst the treasured remnants of Brussels’ former glory and his father’s 32-year auto business.

 Various Musicians from Huron County




Willis-Perrier Residence

58 Dunedin Drive, Brussels

This graWillis Perrier Res 2cious 1901 home exhibits many Classical Queen Anne architectural features in its exterior and interior detail.  Dominant gables, picture windows, stained glass transoms, its wrap-around porch and Tuscan columns are all part of the implied, but not formal, symmetry and the eclectic variety of impressively well done Queen Anne design.

 Woodworker: John Looser, Extreme Birdhouses




CanadianBreed Custom Electrics

515 Turnberry Street, Brussels

Canadianbreed isCanadian Breed Custom Electrics a custom guitar shop specializing in handcrafted guitars. our shop is designed to show all aspects of manufacturing from start to end with a lounge area for demo and display. We build guitars from the novice to the professional guitarist.

 Visual Artist: Colleen Ranney




Bayfield Historical Society & Archives

20 Main Street, Bayfield

 Bayfield ArchivesThe Archives Room, established in 1977 is housed in a historic clapboard building that was built in 1893. It originally served as a furniture/undertaker’s business. In 1929, it operated as a grocery store and in the 1940’s, local fishermen used it to build, repair and store their nets. In 1964, Dorothy and Harold Ormand purchased and donated the building for the community. It was moved to its present location at 20 Main Street North in Bayfield in 1977. Please note that sites in Bayfield are open Sunday, September 14 only  

 Visual Artist: Lynn Haygarth



Bayfield Town Hall

11 The Square, Bayfield

Set beside ClBayfield Town Hallan Gregor Square in its own beautiful landscaped grounds, the Bayfield Town Hall – a historical local landmark and once the site of village government – is now the cornerstone of village life. The hall is the perfect venue for cultural, artistic and community events, and offers a unique space for weddings, business meetings and parties. Please note that sites in Bayfield are open Sunday, September 14  from 12:00 to 4:00 PM only 

Video presentation of past events held at the Town Hall 



 Bayfield International Croquet Club

100 David Street, Bayfield

The site is owBayfield Croquet Clubned by the Municipality of Bluewater and leased to the Club. It was a former gravel pit, which has now been transformed to two beautifully maintained and environmentally friendly grass croquet courts, with picnic seating and a small storage shed. Please note that sites in Bayfield are open Sunday, September 14 only  

 Author: Judy Keightley




Hensall Town Hall and Opera House

108 King Street, Hensall

The HHensall TownHall18892ensall Town Hall and Opera House was built in 1914. In 1913 Mr. McEwen willed the land for the Town Hall to the village. G.C. Petty submitted to council a petition asking that a town hall be built at an approximate cost of $5,000. Welsh and Soldan, local contractors, were given the contract at a cost of $6,998. H. Reynolds was hired as the architect and the building was to be 40’ x 70’ with a seating capacity of 450. Many dances, theatrical performances and celebrations after the First World War were hosted here. The Town Hall was the central hub of the community. When you visit you will see the tin ceiling, iron grate and other details that are unique to the hall. Stop by the cenotaph out front of the hall to remember our fallen soldiers.



81 Brock St, Hensall

Through twenty-eiIceculture2ght years of technical innovation and creative design, the company has become a recognized leader in both the ice and special event industries worldwide, and many of the products and systems developed by the company are now used by carvers everywhere.  Throughout Doors Open Weekend there will be free video presentation about Iceculture every hour on the hour until one hour before closing.

Complete tours of the Iceculture facility are available with prior booking.  Tours offered Saturday at 10:30am, 12pm and 1:30pm and Sunday 12:30pm and 2pm. Special Doors Open pricing for adults $12 (reg $16), youth (5-12 years of age) $9, children 4 & under – FREE!  Call Karen at 1-888-251-9967, x208.  Please note that Iceculture is open Saturday 10am-3pm and Sunday noon to 4pm.


Coastal Coffee Company

17 Goshen Street N – Unit B, Zurich

The Coastal Coastal CoffeeCoffee Company – Roastery is where the magic takes place. We artisan roast coffee fresh for orders and farmers’ markets right here in Zurich’s downtown. Come and tour our roastery, sip some Coastal Brew and experience how great coffee can be!

 Musician: Celtae Baxter



St. Peter’s Evangelical Lutheran Church & Hess Tower Clock

22 Goshen Street South, Zurich

The church buildiSt. Peter's Lutheranng is Gothic Revival Design featuring raised brick quoins and ornamentation unique to the area.  One of the most distinguishing features is the tower clock built  and donated by George Hess in 1878. It has been designated a Canadiana Clock and is one of three tower clocks in Canada still operating in its original manner.   

 * Site is open from 10:00 AM to 4:00 PM on Saturday, September 13 and from 1:00 to 4:00 PM on Sunday, September 14

 Quilters: Diane Carson and Michele Haberer


Zurich Library

10 Goshen St, Zurich

Until thiZurich Library 2s year, services in Zurich were severely limited due to lack of space and steep steps.  A fully accessible facility opened in June 2014 where the whole community can now enjoy more computers, a larger collection, up-dated technology and a community meeting room.  If you can’t make it to the library during Doors Open, plan to attend the Grand Opening of the Zurich Library on Saturday September 20th at 11 am.

 Visual Artist: Devon McCallum